What’s it like working for the FossilPhiles? Part 5 of 5

Post from FossilPhiles Student Evie

10th grade, Wake Young Women’s Leadership Academy

20170105_162114
Who would’ve ever guessed you’d be in a paleontology lab, staring down a 230 million-year-old fossil?

Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve been absolutely obsessed with history and dinosaurs.  I never wanted to play with traditional”girl” toys like barbies, or Polly Pockets, I wanted to play with dinosaurs. Naturally, this love for dinosaurs manifested itself in an interest in paleontology.  Since 8th grade, I’ve felt this was the right career path for me. Unfortunately, I could never seem to find an interesting internship or club that had to do with paleontology.  That was, of course, until FossilPhiles came along. My mom initially told me about this program and I just knew I had to take the opportunity. I was so excited to participate in the program and get immersed in the field. FossilPhiles has opened countless doors for me. Not only have I learned about photogrammetry and how to use the software to create 3D models, but I’ve also learned how to network and make important contacts that will be important for my future in the field. I’ve already been in contact with a paleontology professor from Appalachian  State University, which is my number one choice for college! Not to mention, Khai has been an amazing mentor to me and has helped guide me and inform me on the ins and outs of the field. I’ve loved FossilPhiles so much, I can’t actually put it into words. It really has changed my life, and I’m not just saying that. The people I’ve spoken to at this program really will follow me and help me in the future, I believe. I encourage anyone who is interested to take the plunge and immerse themselves in a program they think they’ll love. It can truly make all the difference in the world.

Leave a Reply

